Skip to main content


The Ithaca campus sits across several Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) permit holders; City of Ithaca, Town of Ithaca, Cayuga Heights, Town of Dryden, and Town of Lansing are a few. The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (NYSDEC) administers this general permit on behalf of the USEPA as a part of the Clean Water Act (CWA). Each municipality enforces their own stormwater construction erosion and sediment control and post construction stormwater structure design, operation and maintenance requirements to maintain compliance with this permit. Most of these codes and designs are based on NYSDEC guidance documents and design manuals.