Skip to main content

7.11.1 EHS Modified DOT Hazard Class System

The basic DOT hazard classes and hazard class numbers are:

DOT Hazard Class Number and Corresponding Hazard Class
DOT Hazard Class Number Hazard Class
Class 1 Explosives
Class 2 Compressed gases
Class 3 Flammable liquids
Class 4 Flammable solids
Class 5 Oxidizers
Class 6 Poisons
Class 7 Radioactive materials
Class 8 Corrosives
Class 9 Store with Class 6

The DOT hazard class numbers can be found on hazard class labels, in SDSs (under the “Transportation Information Section”), on container labels, and in other reference texts. An explanation of the DOT Hazard Class system can be found in the DOT Training Modules and an expanded version of the DOT hazard classes can be found on the EHS Signs and Labels webpage.

The EHS chemical segregation scheme modifies the DOT system by breaking down hazard classes into subcategories. A handout on the EHS Chemical Segregation Scheme can be found in the appendix.